Back to Research Grants Program

Diabetes SA Research Grant Program 2020

Diabetes SA announced that the following researchers have been successful in securing funding from the Diabetes SA Research Grant Program.

Each will be awarded with $100,000 for their research project:

  1. Dr Megan Penno
    The University of Adelaide, Women’s & Children’s Hospital & Walter & Eliza Hall Institute for Medical Research
    For deep profiling for early biomarkers of progression to islet autoimmunity and type 1 diabetes in mother-infant dyads participating in the ENDIA study.

  2. Dr David Jesudason
    The University of Adelaide & The Queen Elizabeth Hospital
    For addressing life threatening ketoacidosis associated with sodium-glucose cotransporter-2 inhibitors and key antidiabetic medicines.

  3. Dr Cher-Rin Chong
    The University of Adelaide, Basil Hetzel Institute for Translational Health Research & The Queen Elizabeth Hospital
    For a novel strategy for cardiovascular protection in type 2 diabetes.

2020 Diabetes SA Research Grants Recipients

A vision to grow the research funding

With a vision to grow the research funding so as to have a greater impact, the Board set a target of awarding $300,000 in total to three researchers extending applications across all research areas for prediabetes, type 1, type 2 and gestational diabetes. CEO of Diabetes SA – Angelique Pasalidis said “Being able to offer double the amount of funding provided to a researcher in the last round was a priority”.

President of the Association – Peter Crouch stated “In our second round of grant funding we have been astounded by the quality of applications received some 18 in total seeking $1.8m collectively in funding. Through the expertise of the co-opted specialist advisors including Professor Toby Coates, Professor Jennifer Couper, Honorary Consultant Endocrinologist to Diabetes SA Dr Anthony Roberts, Dr David Jesudason and Dr Helen Banwell the Board are confident that the three researchers and their respective research will have a direct impact on people living with diabetes”.

Chair of the Research Sub-Committee – Geoff Weeks said “As a not for profit, member based organisation who has been providing services to people living with and at risk of diabetes for over 67 years, we are particularly proud to be able to provide funding for vital research and without the generous support of our members and donors we would not be able to offer such significant funding or support the work of these researchers. Our sincere appreciation must also be extended to the five co-opted specialist advisors who each were very giving of their time, knowledge and expertise in the review process. Thank you also to the Board Members who supported the committee including Vice President Monika Kruger and Committee Member Gary Neave.”

We wish Dr Penno, Dr Jesudason and Dr Chong every success and will look forward to bringing you regular updates as they each progress their research areas.